“Com Fly Wid Mi”, new Shaggy album produced by Sting

[MIAMI] – Following the Grammy Award for their collaborative album, 44/876rock icon Sting and dancehall/reggae legend Shaggy have teamed up again to Com Fly Wid Mi. The new album, produced by 17-time Grammy winner Sting, features Shaggy singing Sinatra’s songbook in a reggae style. Com Fly Wid Mi will be released on May 25 on all digital platforms.

Shaggy (photo credit: Arturo Lorde)

Sinatra’s songbook in a reggae style

In another surprising chapter of their already unexpected partnership, Com Fly Wid Mi originated from a “crazy idea” Sting had while touring with Shaggy a few years ago, as detailed here. The new album features reggae renditions of some of “Ol” Blue Eyes’ most beloved songs, beginning with the uplifting ode to resilience “That’s Life,” followed by “Come Fly with Me.” The album also includes the sultry ‘That Old Black Magic’, the metaphorical euphoria of being in love embodied on ‘Fly Me to the Moon’ and the misery of lost love on ‘Angel Eyes’. “Luck Be a Lady,” “Witchcraft,” and “Under My Skin,” among other fan favorites, are also featured along with the full album track listing below.

Sting Explain, “This idea of ​​having my friend sing ten iconic songs from the Frank Sinatra songbook in a reggae style had been brewing for a while… I know, it sounds crazy! But every time the idea crossed my mind, it made me smile. And what does the world need now, more than anything else…something to smile about!

I’ve always been a Sinatra fan.” said Shaggy. “As a child, Frank’s music played often in our house and on Sundays all the Jamaican radio stations played the greats – Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, etc. He keeps on“It’s great to work with Sting again. He’s the brother I didn’t know I needed!

Sting adds:The reason reggae can work here is that it exudes a joy and energy similar to the energy that Frank’s music had in its heyday. You know the songs, you know the voice, you didn’t expect that. He’s not trying to be Frank, he’s Shaggy. So relax and let that smile ease the cares of the world.”

One night only special show

To celebrate the release of the album, a special limited access, one-night-only performance will take place at the Blue Note Jazz Club in New York City on May 26. Full details will be announced soon via Sting.com and on Shaggy’s social media platforms (Facebook: @Shaggy; instagram, ICT Tac & Twitter: @direalshaggy)

For the new album, the duo – both managed by The Cherrytree Music Company – selected a revered group of reggae, jazz and mainstream musicians and hired musical director, Rob Mathes (Sting, Bruce Springsteen, Fall Out Boy, Luciano Pavarotti, Celine Dion) and producer/musician, Steven “Lenky” Marsden (Sean Paul, Sly & Robbie, Smash Mouth, Jimmy Cliff, Beenie Man, Bounty Killer) to arrange the songs. Recorded in Miami and Jamaica, Com Fly Wid Mi was engineered by Grant Valentine, Earl Smith Jr. & Garfield McDonald and mixed by Robert “Hitmixer” Orton.

Com Fly Wid Mi - Shaggy and Sting
(photo credit: Arturo Lorde)


1) That’s life
2) Come fly with me
3) This old black magic
4) Take me to the Moon
5) The luck of being a woman
6) You make me feel so young
7) Under my skin
8) Saturday night
9) Witchcraft
10) Angel eyes
11) Witchcraft (guitar/vocals) *BONUS TRACK

Comments are closed.