How to delete a playlist on Spotify


If you’re tired of a playlist on Spotify, here’s how to delete it on mobile and desktop.


Spotify 3d icon concept

Spotify is a versatile music streaming platform with a rich collection of music and podcasts. One of the best features is that you can become a DJ and create your own playlists. But the time may come when you don’t want to listen to that playlist anymore.

Instead of cluttering up your Spotify library, it’s better to delete playlists that you no longer listen to. In this article, we are going to show you how to delete a playlist on Spotify.

How to delete a Spotify playlist

Before deleting a Spotify playlist, keep in mind that the process is irreversible. Additionally, you cannot delete playlists that other users have created. If this is what you are looking for, you should unsubscribe from Spotify playlist instead.

With that out of the way, you can delete your Spotify playlists on mobile and desktop. Read on to find out how.

Related: How to Hide & Show Songs on Spotify

How to delete Spotify playlist on mobile

Follow these steps to delete Spotify playlist on Android and iOS:

  1. Go to Your library tab and identify the playlist you want to delete.

  2. Press the three dot menu icon.

  3. To select Delete the playlist from the pop-up window.

  4. Faucet Wipe off to confirm your action.

How to Delete Spotify Playlist on Desktop

If you’re using Spotify through the web or desktop app, follow these steps:

  1. Click on Your library to view your Spotify library.

  2. Find and open the Spotify playlist you want to delete.

  3. Click it three dot button.

  4. To select Wipe off from the pop-up window.

  5. Finally, click Wipe off to confirm and finish.

Delete Spotify playlist via web player

Related: How to Create a Collaborative Playlist on Spotify

What Happens When You Delete Spotify Playlist?

There are a few things you should know about deleting Spotify playlists. First of all, the playlist will disappear completely from your library. However, if you delete a playlist followed by other users, it will still be available to them.

This is important to understand because it means that Spotify will only delete a shared playlist for you. This is because Spotify stores the shared playlists on its servers.

If you want to permanently delete everyone’s playlist, you need to erase all tracks, title and cover. Another way to prevent them from accessing the playlist is to make it private first. To do this, go to the playlist page, press the button three dot menu icon, and select Make private.

Finally, Spotify has another feature called Remove from profile. This does not remove your reading list, but removes it from its showing on your profile. Keep in mind that Spotify only shows public playlists on your profile. The private ones are always hidden.

De-clutter your Spotify library

By following the above steps, you can always stay on top of your Spotify library and clean up unnecessary playlists. When it comes to managing playlists, it’s a snap with Spotify: you can set a custom cover image, share the playlist with friends, and even add local music.


manage-spotify-playlists

10 Useful Spotify Playlist Tips and Tricks You Should Know

Here are several tips and tricks to help you manage your Spotify playlists, including how to duplicate Spotify playlists and more.

Read more


About the Author


Comments are closed.